Although the classical matrimonial regime stipulated by the Romanian law is the legal community of property, the property relations between spouses may be `regulated` by signing agreements on the choice of another matrimonial regime, such as the principle of separate property during marriage or the conventional community regime.

There are 3 matrimonial regimes enshrined in our law, namely: the legal community regime, the conventional community regime and the regime of separate property.

Each of the three matrimonial regimes entails certain rules on the acquisition, management and disposition of the spouses’ income / assets, and on the liabilities assumed by them.